Berkhamsted Annual Time Trial

Living Magazines Berkhamsted Time Trial

Victory for Nick Clarke and Sam Fawcett in Berkhamsted annual Time Trial

Berkhamsted Cycling Club’s fifth annual time-trial took place on Sunday 29 September with 37 athletes competing to be fastest round a ten mile loop.

The event was won by club member Nick Clarke from Pitstone, who completed the circuit in 22 minutes and eight seconds. Sam Fawcett from Hemel Hempstead was the fastest woman, with a time of 25 minutes and 13 seconds. Sam is a member of Berkhamsted club Lovelo Squadra Donne.

Paul Gardner, performance officer at Berkhamsted Cycling Club, said: ‘Sam and Nick both posted powerful rides and all riders from first to last off raced hard trying to catch their minuteman – the rider starting one minute ahead of them in the race. All in all, despite the conditions we’ve had a wonderful, safe exciting and fun race.’

Time trials are a traditional British cycle racing format, popular in the UK throughout the twentieth century even as European ‘mass start’ road races such as the Tour de France failed to gain widespread popularity. Competitors set off at intervals and on their own, and aiming to complete a course in the fastest time.

Berkhamsted Cycling Club has organised the event every year since 2015, and it is one of a programme of annual events the club organises.

Image courtesy of Trevor Hill.